Greatness

n.b. This post was first seen on my Tumblr Account, Reposting here as my first Anime Editorial

 

This weekend will be centered on Greatness

Tomorrow will be the start of the 12th installment of the country’s biggest Toys convention ever, the 12th Philippine Toycon. This event is not just great for being the pioneer, but it is also great for being the primus inter pares of all pop culture events. Everything is going to be great, with the booths, exhibitors and the eventgoers all lining up to buy stuff, to witness cosplayers and to be with their friends.

On Sunday, another great event will happen during the event, and it will be the first ever official World Cosplay Summit final qualifiers to be held here in the Philippines. 20 Cosplayers will slug it out for the right to become our country’s representative to the World Cosplay Summit as an observer. And that is greatness personified.

Our country will now be entering the cosplay stage. These cosplayers have came all the way from provinces as far as Davao and Legazpi, or went to great bounds as those who braved 127 kilometers from Manila to join the Subic Qualifiers. All of them have one dream, to show to the world what Filipino Cosplayers are made of.

Toycon has been the place where some first time anime fans would experience life as a fan. It could probably their first event after being a home, just watching their favorite anime series or following their favorite fandom. I myself had that same kind of experience in 2006, which was my first Toycon outing. Seven years later. I always come back to rekindle that spirit, although always in a different capacity. Before I was just a simple anime fan who wanted to become part of the subculture. Now I am an anime journalist who report on the latest anime news and cover events. I could say that Toycon was the event that helped me evolve through everything. I will never forget Toycon 2007, where I was with the WTF Cosplay Team. I will never also forget Toycon 2009, which challenged my personal life. Toycon never ceases to surprise me, and I could say that I am thankful for this event because it became part of my life.

 

Again, Greatness will be in store again for Toycon 2013, with Hero Face Off and the World Cosplay Summit Philippines qualifiers. Like any other events, Toycon always writes its own history, and it will write again another great chapter in the history of Philippine Pop Culture.

Leave a Reply

